Board of Organizers


The all-volunteer PyData Carolinas 2016 Board of Organizers oversees the production of the conference locally on behalf of NumFOCUS.

Dan Gisolfi, IBM Cloud - Host Chris Spencer, IBM Emerging Technologies - Host
Bob Allen, IBM RTP Activity Center - Host Leah Silen, NumFOCUS - Executive Director
Lucia Gjeltema, MediaMath/Helix - Co-chair Chris Calloway, UNC-CH/RENCI - Co-chair
Ginny Ghezzo, IBM - Master of Ceremonies Maria-Elena Silverhardt, Analytics.Club - Master of Ceremonies
Andrea Villanes, NCSU IAA Melinda Thielbar, Research Triangle Analysts
Clinton Dreisbach, RTI Mark Lowe, MaxPoint
Melissa Nysewander, Fidelity Investments Tonya Severson, Sygenta
Melodie Moorefield-Wilson, Issuer Direct Corp. Dr. Zeydy Ortiz, DataCrunch Lab
Timothy Mulligan, Red Hat Eric Leary, TriPython
Dana Calder, Iron Yard Robert Petrusz, Bull City Coworking
Kris Matson, Bayer Crop Science Alice Broadhead, MaxPoint
Kip Sutter, Sutter Analytics April Ellerbe, DCVB
Shoresh Shafei, Spreedly Suzy Stiegelmeyer, Q2 Solutions | EA Genomics

Keynote Speakers

Carol Willing, Python Software Foundation Dr. Anthony Scopatz, University of South Carolina
Leah Silen, NumFOCUS Foundation Kyle Snavely, IBM Cloudant
Dr. Lea Shanley, South Big Data Innovation Hub  

Session Chairs and Tutorial Assistants

Ginny Ghezzo, IBM Dr. Anthony Scopatz, University of South Carolina
Daniel Siegle, NCCU Philip Semanchuk
Kevin Prybol, Humana Eric Dill, MaxPoint


An array of committees assists the Board to produce the conference. The Board is primarily composed of committee co-chairs. To volunteer for a particular committee, write to the email address shown with that committee's roster on this page.


Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is a panel of invited experts providing guidance to the Board.

Dr. Brian Blanton, RENCI David Knowles, NCDS
Dr. Michael Rappa, NCSU IAA Jennifer Resnick, NCDS
Shannon McKeen, UNC Kenan-Flagler Gayle Bieler, RTI
Brandy Ellis, MaxPoint Peter Parente, MaxPoint
Zack Weill, MaxPoint Francois Dion, Inmar


Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee publicizes and enforces the Code of Conduct, handles concerns, distributes diversity scholarships, and seeks to expand the diversity of the PyData community.

Melodie Moorefield-Wilson - Co-chair Andrea Villanes - Co-chair
Alice Broadhead Clinton Dreisbach
Timothy Mulligan Amanda Newport-Foster, MaxPoint
René Johnson, Black Girls Code Carol Willing, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo


Program Committee

The Program Committee evaluates talk and tutorial proposals to create the conference schedule.

Ginny Ghezzo - Co-chair Mark Lowe - Co-chair
Clinton Dreisbach - Co-chair Zeydy Ortiz
Nicholas Brown, MediaMath Eric Dill, MaxPoint
Philip Semanchuk Rex Dwyer
Kevin Prybol, Humana  


Sponsorship Committee

The Sponsorship Committee recruits sponsors and ensures sponsors are fully rewarded.

Robert Petrusz - Co-chair Kris Matson - Co-chair
Mark Lowe Maria-Elena Silverhardt
Eric Leary Lucia Gjeltema
Alex Fine, MaxPoint Katherine King, MaxPoint


Hospitality Committee

The Hospitality Committee arranges hotel blocks, transportation services, and social events.

April Ellerbe - Co-chair Alice Broadhead - Co-chair
Maria-Elena Silverhardt - Co-chair Robert Petrusz


Production Committee

The Production Committee designs and produces t-shirts, printed programs, and signage.

Zeydy Ortiz - Co-chair Kip Sutter - Co-chair
Timothy Mulligan  


Audiovisual Committee

The Audiovisual Committee coordinates video recording and audiovisual delivery and reinforcement.

Eric Leary - Co-chair John Cawley - Co-chair


Operations Committee

The Operations Committee coordinates all volunteer activities at the conference including session chairs, registration desk, exhibition hall, WiFi assistants, runners, and greeters.

Timothy Mulligan - Co-chair Dana Calder - Co-chair
Shoresh Shafei - Co-chair Philip Semanchuk
Eric Leary Rich Niemi, IBM
Katherine King, MaxPoint Ehsan Adeli, UNC-CH
Saeed Mohajer, UNCC Mohamed Chizari, NCSU
Mahsa Arabpour Farid Alborzi, NCSU
Farshad Saberi, NCSU Shamim Sarmadi, NCSU


Communications Committee

The Communications Committee manages social media and marketing for the conference.

Melinda Thielbar - Co-chair Melissa Nysewander - Co-chair
Suzy Stiegelmeyer - Co-chair Xiaomin Fu, Duke SSRI
Jewell Thomas, MaxPoint Kevin Prybol, Humana